Customs Regulations


Not required by EU citizens. Not required by nationals of Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the USA for stays of up to 90 days.

More Information

Permesso di Soggiorno

Electronic Authorisation

The European Commission has outlined plans for an electronic vetting system for travellers to the Schengen area.

Under the proposed terms of the European Travel Information & Authorisation System (ETIAS), all non-EU travellers would have to fill in an online form and pay a fee of €5 before they could travel to the Schengen block.

If approved by the European Parliament, the system could come into force in 2020.

For further details, see